Never mind I’ll find someone like you

Posted: May 19, 2012 in Random Thoughts

“Never mind I’ll find someone like you. I wish nothing but the best for you. Sometimes in life and love it last but sometimes it hurts instead…”(Adele)

This song always makes me cry,  you know… I think it’s because I really don’t know what it means.

I mean, yes, of course, I know what it means, but I don’t know what IT means. For some bizare reason I’ve never regreted when I’ve lost or left love, probably because I’ve always believed that it was meant to be . If it didn’t work it wasn’t supposed work out …

But now, at this very moment when I am on the edge of closing yet another door I keep wondering… how do you know if something is meant to be or not?

I really don’t know.

I’ve always been a bit of a romantic (not a foolish, unrealist romantic, I might add)… but I think I’ve never really been in love. And it makes me quite sad to think about it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve loved, a great deal, in fact, but at some point I’ve always been so disapointed with the guy next to me I’ve just said… “Look… this is just not going to work out.”

Am I a defeatist? I don’t know. But it is sad.  I’ve always thought love was simple and straight forward. And it’s not a question of there being fights or no fights (strangely enough I haven’t had many of those) it’s just either the feeling the other person is just not that interested or that you are not as interested as he is. And it is sad. Very sad. Because I just keep wondering if it’s always going to be this way.

I don’t know. But I do care.

Dear reader, does this ever happen to you? Do you feel like you just don’t find someone who is your perfect fit and you’re their perfect fit?

Oh well, faint heart never won anything I suppose. But it’s just that one thing that’s missing… and it’s not because of social upbringing, or any other rubbish like that… It’s just the feeling that the only thing I’ve always ever wanted seems to be in a distant horizon and no matter how much I walk it never seems to get any closer.

For some reason (probably my romantic side vs common sense) I’ve always thought that love is like cereal. Or toast. It’s something you love having every day. It’s not something you’ll throw a party for every day but you really do miss it when you can’t have it. (Not like creme brulee, for example, which is wonderfull and you will be overjoyed to have it  but if you eat it for three days straight you will be sick of it…)

Again, I don’t know. I suppose patience is in order.

But while we are sitting here waiting, dear reader, please do tell me… does this happen to you to?

Leave a Reply

