Absolute must reads: DAY 3

Posted: June 21, 2010 in Absolute must reads

Well, today I am going to go back a few years and remember when I was spotty & soppy teenager… do you remember that weird time of life???^^

For all those readers who are in fact teenagers all I can say is… enjoy it before it ends ;-))) It is a cool time of life, whatever you may think now,  you may be a bit of an ugly duckling (well, I know I certainly was…) and if not you might feel like an ugly duckling… but don’t worry, you will be a swan, you will laugh at your old pics and remember the great things you have done and will be too “respectable & mature” to do afterwards 😛  As for those of  you who don’t feel that way : Congrats I envy you, I wish I had felt that way when I was young & spotty ;-)))

Whatever the case may be, dear reader, I seriously recommend this book, for those who are teenagers or want to remember how they were when they went through that curious stage ^^

THE PRINCESS DIARIES

Series Plot:

The story of Mia’s adolescent turmoil as an average teenager, and a princess of royal descent and chronicled in her ongoing journal, where she explores topics of teenage angst, love and betrayal through a very opinionated eye.

  • The Princess Diaries, October 2000
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume II: Princess in the Spotlight, June 2001
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume III: Princess in Love, March 2002
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume IV: Princess in Waiting, April 2003
    • The Princess Diaries, Volume IV and 1/4: Valentine Princess, published December 2006, but chronologically fits here, being presented as an old journal Mia finds of her Freshman Valentine’s Day two years after the fact.
    • The Princess Diaries, Volume IV and 1/2: Project Princess, August 2003
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume V: Princess in Pink, March 2004
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume VI: Princess in Training, March 2005
    • The Princess Diaries, Volume VI and 1/2: The Princess Present, October 2005
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume VII: Party Princess, March 2006
    • The Princess Diaries, Volume VII and 1/2: Sweet Sixteen Princess, May 2006
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume VIII: Princess on the Brink, January 2007
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume IX: Princess Mia, December 26, 2007
  • The Princess Diaries, Volume X: Forever Princess, January 2009

BEST OF:

-Mia’s analysis of the world around her… yes… I know… it sounds familiar, doesn’t it???^^

-The grandmother: hilarious in a sadomasochistic sort of way… more of the archetype of the english prim & posh grandmother if you ask me… ^^ (grandmamma if you are reading I really do love you ;-)))

-Lana, Trisha & Karen: American readers, please tell me, ignorant as I am, are there people like this in the States???  The popular kid’s archetype is toootaly different in this little corner of the world :-)))

NOT THE BEST OF:

-Lilly: As good as the character was at the beginning… she just gets on my nerves as the books go by…:-)))

IN GENERAL:

Well, as well as Agatha Christie, R. L. Stine & JK Rowling (among others), I have to thank Meg Cabot, she has marked my adolescence and, between you and me, when I feel like being fifteen again I always read chapter or so of one of the books and laugh socks off as I enjoy feeling a princess once again ^^

Author Meg Cabot
Country United States
Language English
Series The Princess Diaries
Genre(s) Young adult novel
Publisher HarperTrophy
Leave a Reply

